Lane's are People Places and Things.

Christmas Trees, Ironing, Homemade All-Purpose Cleaner and Meryl Steep

Long post title?  Check.

Random post title?  Check.

Make a checklist?  Check.

First post in a long time?  Checkaroo.

And now begins a long-winded explanation of an obscure title.  Earlier tonight, we decided to go pick up our Christmas tree. (Post Title Item #1)  It’s beautiful, and everything a Christmas Tree should be.  Emiley suggested that we wait until tomorrow night to start decorating it.  That’s fine by me, I was wanting to get some cleaning done anyways.

You see, I figure Christmas time is a great time to clean.  You’re gonna re-decorate the house, so you’re gonna need to do a little cleaning anyways.  However, “a little cleaning” is NOT what was in store for me tonight.  No, no, no.  This was “We just had a baby and barely have time to eat” cleaning.  Before Carter was born, I had the house spotless, SPOTLESS!  And since then, well… yeah, about that…

So, I started by cleaning the area by the front door where the Christmas Tree goes.  It goes by the front door because it says in the Bible that the Christmas Tree MUST be placed by the front window.  It’s even in red letters I think… or so my wife says.  Anyways, this task was really quite simple.  Move a few things over, vacuum and POOF! an empty area for a Christmas tree.

I proceeded to carry in the Christmas Tree from the truck.  I got it in the stand and stood back to find out that it was perfectly straight!  Woohoo!  Victory!

However, as I stood back and looked at the Christmas Tree there was now a stain on the carpet that had become MUCH more visible due to the shifting arrangement of the room.  I always knew the stain was there, and it certainly wasn’t isn’t the only stain on our carpets.*  I remembered an article I saw on Lifehacker about cleaning carpet stains using an iron (Post Title Item #2) and some mixture which included vinegar.  After re-reading the article I discovered that I had recently made almost the EXACT cleaning concoction to use as an (amazing!) all purpose cleaner! (Post Title Item #3)  It’s 1/2 water, 1/2 vinegar and a little bit of alcohol in case you’re wondering… I know, that technically equals more than 100%… you’ll get over it!  What you do is, you spray this vinegar solution on the stain, put a damp cloth over it and then iron over the cloth.  It sucks the stains out!  Well, that’s the idea anyways.  It worked great on the newer and less colorful stains.  The strawberry Koolaid is MUCH less visible, but definitely still there.

So, with the spot by the front door done and 2 of the spots by the couch done it was time to start cleaning.  As I was throwing away countless amounts of black friday ads (and many MUCH older ads) I realized I needed something to watch.  While flipping through the Netflix movies on our Wii I decided to watch Julie and Julia (Post Title Item #4) because I needed to be inspired to write a blog post (note to bloggers out there… WATCH THIS MOVIE!).  It didn’t hit me until half way through the movie (and half way through cleaning) that this will be what I’ll blog about (for now)… me making our house look like we didn’t just have a newborn!  Well… other than all of the baby stuff everywhere!

So here I sit in my nice, clean looking (and smelling) living room typing this post.  Oh, and speaking of smelling good!  I’m trying something that I don’t think I’ve ever heard of anyone doing (and there may be a reason NOT to do it… but I don’t see it).  I shoved some dryer sheets into the couch/chair cushions!  I’m hoping this helps get rid of the dog smell freshens the living room up a bit.

Where does Emiley fit in in all of this mess? (pun intended)  She’s busy toiling away at her new hobby.  She started an Etsy store selling cloth baby accessories.  I’ll leave it to her to write a blog post about that though, if I can ever get her to do it!!!

So, as I embark on this cleaning expedition, what advice do you have?  What movies should I watch while cleaning?  Know any other good cheap home cleaning remedies?

*Most of said stains are found near the couch.  They’ve been there since the first trimester of Emiley’s pregnancy.  You see, she spent a LOT of time passed out laying on the couch because she felt incredibly bad for the first few months.  She also had a problem drinking water so I always had some Koolaid or Sweet Tea made for her to drink.  She would put her glasses of these wonderfully colorful liquids on the coffee table and without fail one of the dogs would manage to knock over the glass(es) with their tail(s) almost daily.

One response

  1. “So here I sit it my nice, clean looking (and smelling) living room typing this post. Oh, ans speaking of smelling good!”

    in*
    and*

    Other than that, good post. 🙂

    November 28, 2010 at 11:55 pm

Leave a Reply

