Lane's are People Places and Things.

I Am No Longer A Marching Band Virgin

This week I worked with the “pit” or “front ensemble” (both terms I had never heard before) for the Sandlewood Marching Saints (GO SAINTS! …I guess). This meant that I “worked” 12 hour days for 6 days straight!

It was quite eye-opening. Here a few of my observations from the past week.

1. Why do they count off “5, 6, 5, 6, 7, 8” if the song is in 4/4?!?!? I understand it has to do with the marching, but they do it even when they’re sitting in the band room! It took me a while to get used to counting off my group like this… if I did “1, 2, 3, 4” it threw them off.

2. I had no clue what a drum-major did! They take away half of the directors responsibility! I’m not saying that’s a bad thing either. I could also imagine how they can either be the most hated person in the band, or everyone’s favorite arm-waver!

3. High-schoolers. Do. Not. Listen. To. Anything. (I already knew this, but I was thoroughly reminded of it this week.)
“You only play cymbals on this song.”
“Just use 1 stick, not 2.”
“Stand here.”
“No, HERE!”
“Yeah, sure… that’s close enough.”
“Why are you talking when you should be playing?”
“Why are you playing when I’m talking to you”
“You only play cymbals on this song!”
“Stop dancing when you play!”
“ONLY USE 1 STICK!”
“You’re not in the drum-line, don’t twirl your sticks.”
“YOU ONLY PLAY CYMBALS ON THIS SONG! DO NOT PLAY ANYTHING ELSE!!!!!”

5. High-schoolers (who have been out marching) smell. My goodness, it was like walking into an Awana room during game time! (Seriously, if you’ve never walked into an Awana game room consider yourself truly blessed of God) My nose quickly adjusted after day 1 though.

4 responses

  1. First off, point #3 is highly insulting.

    Secondly, there is no #4.

    Last but not least, “Why are you playing when I’m talking to you?” reminded me of…guess who. 🙂

    August 21, 2010 at 10:28 pm

    • kyleblane

      Thanks to Kate I have a number 4

      4. I want to start implementing the while push-ups punishment in praised at church. That’s just cool.

      August 21, 2010 at 10:35 pm

      • Katie Beck

        haha! You should definitely do it.

        August 24, 2010 at 6:26 am

  2. Katie Beck

    This is possibly your best blog yet, only because marching band was my life for the past almost 18 years of my life and has recently been taken out so abruptly and this makes me miss it yet not miss it even more haha if that made sense.

    The 5-6-5-6-7-8 part wasn’t a part of my marching band career, though. We ALWAYS did it the right way in terms of music.

    Everything else, I totally agree haha. Especially the high schoolers don’t listen. Even as officer and band captain, especially band captain, I was a high schooler myself and they still were terrible at listening. Oh how I miss giving out 3849203 push ups and gigs just to make them listen to me 🙂
    I’m glad you’ve finally entered into the marching band world!

    August 21, 2010 at 10:30 pm

Leave a Reply

