Lane's are People Places and Things.

What Sleeping and Devotionals Have In Common

Ok, so to prepare the dogs for a baby to be sleeping in the bedroom with us (yes, we will soon have 22 individual legs in our bedroom at night… 4 dogs, 3 humans) we’ve put the pack-n-play (I’ll call it a crib the rest of the post because it’s easier to type) down at the foot of the bed.  So now that they’ve gotten used to it being in the room without a screaming baby in it, the additional noise hopefully won’t bother them too much.

Anyways, the other night I looked in the crib as I went to gather my blanket (my wife and I have our own individual blankets… it’s what keeps our marriage in tact (JUST KIDDING!)) and I noticed a sheet sitting in there.  I thought to myself, “Self, you havn’t slept with a sheet in a super long time!”  So I got out of bed and “made” my half of the bed like it’s supposed to be made.

Not only was it the most comfortable I’ve been in our bed in a long time, but I slept like I haven’t slept in what seems like forever!  It actually gave me the sensation of staying in a hotel, on vacation, because that’s really the only time I sleep with a “made” bed!  It didn’t feel like home, it was different… more comfortable, more cozy, more relaxing… it was just plain different.

Then that got me thinking… When are the times we have our best quiet times with God?  Generally those rare gems happen at church, at camp, or that one time every couple of months when we wake up early and dive into the Word.  My point is, it’s DIFFERENT!  I’m gonna start experimenting doing devo’s in different places, positions and times.  Who knows what’ll happen!

8 responses

  1. Katie Beck

    Okay so when you said you slept with a sheet for the first time in forever, and you were gonna blog about it later on, I wasn’t expecting this! haha but I love it! It’s definitely super true, something I will have to start doing!
    Good job haha!

    August 9, 2010 at 10:55 pm

  2. kyleblane

    lol, go back and read it again! I’ve corrected a few things!

    The point’s still the same, but I talked gooder this time.

    August 9, 2010 at 10:57 pm

  3. Dang, Kyle! That was an awesome word. No lie. Definitely an awesome relation, and an awesome idea to try!

    P.S. I like how you said pack-n-play would be shortened to crib because that was easier to type but only said crib once more. hahaha. 🙂

    August 9, 2010 at 10:59 pm

  4. kyleblane

    I noticed that (that I said “crib” only one time)… but at the time I didn’t realize that!

    August 9, 2010 at 11:01 pm

  5. Katie Beck

    Haha yes, I looked the gooder typing.
    Sarah, it says you liked this. How? haha!

    August 9, 2010 at 11:08 pm

  6. kyleblane

    Probably she’s logged into wordpress.

    August 9, 2010 at 11:12 pm

  7. Haha, I was gonna say “I clicked the like button?” but didn’t realize Katie’s not on WordPress. So…Kyle’s right.

    August 9, 2010 at 11:14 pm

  8. Katie Beck

    Ohh haha. Maybe I should change to wordpress. It has cooler things than blogspot does..Its like a Mac compared to a PC 🙂

    August 9, 2010 at 11:17 pm

Leave a Reply

